RETA Executive Director Stepping Aside

An election will almost certainly be called tomorrow, and RETA Executive Director Garnett Genuis is stepping down to focus himself on his campaign to represent the people of Sherwood Park. Garnett will be a Wildrose candidate in the upcoming election, and he will continue to fight the unneeded Heartland Transmission Line during this campaign and beyond.

During his time as Executive Director, Garnett oversaw the continuation of RETA’s appeals, the highly successful “Don’t Close My School” campaign, and a new research initiative to uncover the connections between Alberta’s current PC government and SNC-Lavalin.

Garnett offered the following comments on his departure: “I knew all along when I started with RETA that I would need to step aside when the election came along, but there is a part of me that is still sad to go. It has been a great honour working with all of you to try to address many of the problems in Alberta’s electricity system. I believe strongly that we will ultimately prevail.”

We wish Garnett well as he continues to fight for our community.

~ by RETA on March 25, 2012.

 
